Your Browser Doesn't support the Javascript Student Equity Advisory Committee
Skip navigation

East Los Angeles College

Home > Faculty & Staff > Committees > Student Equity Advisory Committee
Student Equity Advisory Committee

The ELAC Student Equity Plan reflects the District's commitment and practice in providing all members of the college community an environment where faculty, staff and students can learn, work and interact with each other in a supportive and collegial manner. The College District has identified student equity as a high priority for itself, and the goals of the committee reflect this commitment.

The Student Equity Advisory Committee will be comprised college-wide of administrators, faculty, classified staff, students, and community members. It will provide the overall direction of the efforts and implementation of the ELAC Student Equity Plan and the combined Integrated Plan with the Student Success and Support Program and Student Success Committees.

The Committee meets on the third Wednesday of every month. Meetings are held in room G1-301 AB from 12:00 PM – 1:30 PM. Meetings for the 2017 – 2018 academic year are scheduled for the following dates:

Fall 2017
September 20
October 18
November 15
December 20

Spring 2018
February 21
March 21
April 18
May 16

We encourage you to scroll down for the list of committee members for 2017 - 2018 and use the menu options to your left. In addition to bylaws and minutes, there is a Resources page with information and links on Student Equity at East Los Angeles College.

Member Designated Position/Constituency
* Dean, Academic Affairs
Laura Cantú Dean, Student Services
* Dean, Continuing & Workforce Education
Julie Benavides Vice President, Student Services

Faculty-Academic Senate
Member Designated Position/Constituency
* Academic Senate, Career Technical Education
Issa Tall (Mathematics) Academic Senate, Liberal Arts & Sciences
Amber Marsden (Counseling) Academic Senate, Counseling
Mayra Neri (EOPS/CAFYES) Academic Senate, Faculty at Large
Cynthia Orozco (Library) Academic Senate, Faculty at Large
Alison Davis (Life Sciences) Alternate Academic Senate (Alternate)

Faculty-AFT Faculty Guild
Member Designated Position/Constituency
* AFT Faculty

Classified Bargaining Units
Member Constituency
* AFT Staff Guild
* Researcher, Office of Institutional Effectiveness and Advancement
* Office of Professional Development (Staff or Faculty)

South Gate Campus
Member Constituency
* South Gate Campus Employee (Administrator, Faculty or Staff)

Member Constituency
* Associated Student Union

Community Members
Member Constituency
Eriq Felix USC Center for Urban Education

* Position for 2017-2018 is pending appointment from the appropriate constituency.